Past Awards: 2016-2017

DEED 2017 Student Essay Awards

Imagining Engineering Design Education in 2040[view contest instructions]

    Graduate Student Winners:

    • Alistair Cook (Colorado State University): Educating Engineers for International Development Careers: A Pathway to the Future of Engineering Design Education [view paper]
    • Steven Weiner (Arizona State University): How Engineering Design Education Will Be Everywhere and Nowhere in 2040 [view paper]
    Undergraduate Student Winners:

    • Aaron Joya and Maria Buan (University of Washington): D.I.R.T. (Designing in Real Time) [view paper]
    • Shreyas M. Shete and Pramod V. Desai (Rajarambapu Institute of Technology): Design Tends to Virtuality [view paper]

DEED 2017 Distinguished Service Award


Congratulations to Amir Rezaei, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona for winning the inaugural DEED Distinguished Service Award! Amir’s multiple contributions to DEED include serving as Program Chair (2007-2008) and Division Chair (2008-2009). As Division Chair, Amir oversaw DEED’s growth to the third largest ASEE division and also led the development of the Financial Assistance Program, a joint program with NISH focused on assistive technology design. DEED commends Amir on his service!

 DEED 2017 Best Papers


WINNER: Switching Midstream, Floundering Early, and Tolerance for Ambiguity: How Capstone Students Cope with Changing and Delayed Projects, Dr. Kris Jaeger-Helton (Northeastern University) and Dr. Bridget M. Smyser (Northeastern University) [view paper]



  • Finalist: Examining the Effect of a Paradigm-Relatedness Problem-Framing Tool on Idea Generation, Amy E. Rechkemmer (University of Michigan), Maya Z. Makhlouf (University of Michigan), Jennifer M. Wenger (University of Michigan), Eli M. Silk (Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey), Dr. Shanna R. Daly (University of Michigan), Dr. Seda McKilligan (Iowa State University), and Dr. Kathryn W. Jablokow (Pennsylvania State University, Great Valley) [view paper]
  • Finalist: Case Studies of Problem Exploration Processes in Engineering Design, Ms. Jaryn Studer (Iowa State University), Dr. Shanna R. Daly (University of Michigan), Dr. Jaclyn Kuspiel Murray (University of Michigan), Dr. Seda McKilligan (Iowa State University), and Prof. Colleen M. Seifert (University of Michigan [view paper]
  • Finalist: Designing a Course for Peer Educators in Undergraduate Engineering Design Courses, Ms. Gina Marie Quan (University of Maryland, College Park), Dr. Chandra Anne Turpen (University of Maryland, College Park), Dr. Ayush Gupta (University of Maryland, College Park), and Ms. Emilia Dewi Tanu (University of Maryland, College Park) [view paper]
  • Finalist: Extending the 2015 Capstone Design Survey: Data from Australia and New Zealand, Dr. Susannah Howe (Smith College) and Ms. Laura Mae Rosenbauer (Smith College) [view paper]